设计哲学

理念

我们居住的空间首先体现了我们的意识。我们的意识决定了我们的情趣,而情趣则决定了我们的标准。设计的首要任务是让设计本身不可见,同时又能体现品位以及客户的生活方式。作为设计师,我的任务是给客户带来丰富的感受和体验,并且协助客户确立属于他们自己的品质生活标准

我的作品中始终贯穿着三个元素:平衡、美观和节奏,从来都不盲目地追随潮流,追求震撼性效果,或矫揉造作。整个房间的美感固然重要,但对我来说,更为重要的是它应该给住户带来美好的感受。很多房间都会给人留下深刻的第一印象,但只有那些让我们留恋不舍的房间,才具有持久不衰的影响和魅力。

过程

视觉艺术有积极空间和消极空间之说。音乐的魔力在很大程度上源于音符之间的空白。音乐作品之所以连贯、平衡,是因为它具有特殊的形式、结构与和声组合。别致的空间也体现了这些元素。在进行每项设计的时候,我都像音乐家谱写交响乐一样。我会用标准比例来打造层次感,同时运用灵活的艺术手段让设计显得别致新颖。因此,我的设计思路不是挑选各种美观的物件来填满空间,而是寻求比例与搭配的巧妙结合。

普通设计往往会忽略永恒艺术的真正元素。在我看来,如果各种物品和形状彼此搭配得当,这就会产生美感与和谐。在设计过程中,材料和饰面的品质非常关键,会在无意识中影响到你的感受。正因为如此,房间不仅要外表美观,也要令人感受舒适。

项目

项目成功的关键在于,自由地挥洒创造力,克服先入为主的想法或局限。我始终坚持创新,不想让我的公司沦为千篇一律的加工厂。因此,我会非常谨慎地挑选项目,以免浪费自己的创造力。我会细心地倾听客户的意见,迅速了解客户的期望,从而始终能够确保项目进展顺利。作为一名自由的视觉艺术家,我对项目充满激情,总是能够打造出最好的设计效果。

在每个项目中,从始至终,我都会竭力将艺术性和专业性完美地融合起来。

Design Approach

Philosophy

The spaces we inhabit are, first and foremost, reflections of our awareness. Our awareness dictates our refinement, and our refinement dictates our standards. The primary function of design is to make itself invisible while conveying the taste, and above all, lifestyle of the client. My role as designer is to enrich the perspective and experience of the client, and to assist in establishing his or her own individual standards of quality living.

The three prevalent elements in my work are always balance, beauty, and rhythm—never trend, force or pretense. While the aesthetic of a completed room is important, the sensory effect on the inhabitant is even more meaningful. Rooms are often impressive at first glance, but only those in which one wants to linger have lasting effect and timeless appeal.

Process

In visual art, we refer to positive and negative space. In music, much of the magic is created in the rests of silence between notes. A piece of music is coherent and balanced because of its specific form, structure and harmonic combinations. An extraordinary space reflects these very same elements. I approach each design as a composer would in outlining the form of a symphony. Layers are built within classical proportions, while artistic liberties create one-of-a-kind originality. My design process is therefore not selecting beautiful objects to fill a space, but rather the skillful orchestration of proportion and combination.

The true elements of timeless artistry are often overlooked in generic design. To me, beauty and harmony come in perfect alignment once objects and forms are placed in positive dialogue to one another. The quality of materials and finishes applied within a design has a vital effect on the subconscious experience of the senses. It is for this very reason that rooms not only look good but feel equally so.

Projects

The key to a successful project is in allowing free creativity to preside over preconceived notions or limitations. I take measures to avoid operating my company as a factory with cookie-cutter formulas. Therefore, I select projects with great care in order not to dilute my creative strength. Being an attentive listener and comprehending right away what my client expects of the outcome enables me to continuously lead the project in the right direction. Having free reign as visionary artist provides an arena in which I can create passionately with greatest results.

I strive for artistic and professional integrity for each project from the outset through completion.